Meet the General Manager: Spencer Rothermel

Spencer Rothermel, General Manager of Fresh Brothers Marina Del Rey

Spencer Rothermel is the General Manager of Fresh Brothers Marina Del Rey.  Spencer is a rock star.  Not literally.  I don’t think he can sing.  He’s a rock star of customer service. He is one one of the most positive and hard-working individuals that I have ever met. When I think about Spencer, and what sets him apart, I come back to a moment in November.  It was about 10:30 in the morning, and I was at the store setting up for a birthday party.  The phones were ringing off the hook and none of our cashiers were in yet.  Spencer was multi-tasking (as usual) and answering phones while bouncing back and forth into the kitchen to make sure the morning prep was done.  One of our employees then called in sick.  I rolled my eyes at Spencer and said something like “It’s gonna be one of those days!”  In return, he smiled and turned around and did a Ralph Macchio Karate Kid kick in the air and said “Rock n Roll.”  That’s the kind of guy you want on your team!

Where are you from? Ashburn, Virginia: home of the Washington Redskins.  After spending 4 long winters at college in upstate NY I promised myself I’d move to the beach in southern California and here I am.

What did you do before working at Fresh Brothers? I was a video editor and graphic designer.  I also spent a few years working on low bugget horror films, but hey, who hasn’t?

How did you end up working at Fresh Brothers?
Honestly, the economy tanked and my client base dried up.   I needed a job and found an ad on Craigslist.   Lucky for me Adam went to Ithaca College like I did and gave me the opportunity to grow with the company. I began chopping salads 6 nights a week and worked up to GM of MDR in less then a year. Only in America!

Best part of the job? Interacting with our amazing customers and crew.

Worst part of the job? Getting attacked by my dog when I get home because she thinks I’m a “Miller Special”!

Favorite Pizza? Chicken, bacon, giardinaria, tomato with the ‘Pesto Mix’

How do you feel you set yourself apart with customer service? I want to make the customer happy.  Not just ‘smile happy’, but ‘laugh out loud’ happy.

Favorite customer service story? When I was in management training in Redondo Beach I had a GF customer come in who was on vacation   He told me he hadn’t been able to eat pizza for 15 years!   When he told me it was the best pizza he had ever had it made my day!

How do you feel about our gluten-free menu? My lady is gluten free so i know first hand how important is it to provide a safe and delicious GF pizza experiance.  The biggest impact I’ve seen is families whoes children are gluten free finally have a place where they can all go out to eat without having to worry about a lack of menu choices.  Fresh Brothers rocks its GF menu like no other!

What do you do in your spare time? Play with my dog Sasha, cook, paint and write.

This entry was posted in Meet the Fresh Staff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meet the General Manager: Spencer Rothermel

  1. I love these little vignettes Deb! Especially since I had Fresh Brothers!
    The Hot Mamas is my fav! mmmmm – Rach

  2. lisawifemom says:

    Love it! Always fun to read about their lives, make them real people.

    He does sound like a rock star!

    Lisa Vitale
    http://lisawifemom.wordpress.com

  3. Nice meeting you Spencer. The staff is always very friendly at Fresh Brothers MDR.

Leave a Reply

