Meet the Manager: Will Coulehan, Fresh Brothers, Manhattan Beach

Will Coulehan, Manager of Fresh Brothers, Manhattan Beach

“Meet the Manager” is a series of blog posts that will introduce you to some of our most valuable employees. Meet Will Coulehan, Fresh Brother’s first employee. He’s been with Fresh Brothers even before our first location opened! Will is extremely dedicated to his work at Fresh Brothers. The Brothers call Will “The Save” because you can throw him into the middle of a crazy kitchen and he’ll make sure that the food goes out on time and correctly. He has no problem jumping from one position to another – making pizzas, answering phones, etc. – doing whatever needs to get done to keep Fresh Brothers moving smoothly. He oversees our school lunch program. During one week, our MB location will make thousands of pizzas for local school lunches. Will is a great guy, with a great “can do” attitude. He is another star in our constellation of amazing employees.

Tell us about life before Fresh Brothers: I am originally from Denver, Colorado. I ended up in California trying to pursue a career as a firefighter. Before working at Fresh Brothers, I have worked as a waiter, EMT, Paramedic and even a bus boy. I ended up working for Fresh brothers when I was out of a job. Adam Goldberg had a crazy idea going into the pizza business. He sold me his idea, he sent me to Chicago and I’ve been working my a#$ off ever since.

The best part of the job is watching the business, employees, customers, and my experience grow.

What sets you apart in customer service? I have been here since before day one, I have a real care for everyone who eats our food as well as the experience they have every time they order. Happy customers is what makes our business grow. I admit I was a bit skeptical about the addition of our gluten-free pizza in the beginning but now I can see how much of a service it is to serve gluten-free items.

*********************************************************************************

When you think about pizza, you don’t necessarily associate it with beautiful and engaging art. When I asked Will about his life outside of work at Fresh Brothers, he surprised me by telling me that he was a painter. Here are two of his pieces:

Nighty Night by Will Coulehan

Uncle Nancy, by Will Coulehan

I think they are incredible. I will never think about Will in the same way again! I hope that by including two of his paintings in this blog post, we can help Will sell some of his work.

This entry was posted in Meet the Fresh Staff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Meet the Manager: Will Coulehan, Fresh Brothers, Manhattan Beach

  1. The artwork really expands my view of Will Coulehan and Fresh Brothers! Very exciting. I’d really enjoy working in a place that has such personal and in-depth views of employees. Speaks well of the company.

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer

  2. I’m guessing that Pacifica is too far to deliver…bummer, maybe pizza for lunch. Thanks for sharing, love the first painting.

    Darcie Newton
    Introducing Alternative Assets to Smart Investors
    http://www.mywealthspa.com

  3. Irene Turner says:

    Still love your personal approach to your business, and I love the colorful impact of Will’s art! Happy New Year to you and yours

  4. Donna McCord says:

    I really enjoy getting to meet the interesting and dedicated people that are working at Fresh Brothers. It makes me want to pop in and meet them and try some of the great food they are offering! I wish Fresh Brothers would open up somewhere here in the Bay Area! And I also loved seeing Will’s artwork; he is definitely a multi-talented man and I hope he will gain recognition for his artistry. As I scrolled down and the first painting was revealed, I thought I was going to see that Will was collecting art by Van Gogh!

  5. Fiona Stolze says:

    Lovely to meet Will. He’s certainly a very multi-talented chap. I loved seeing that he is an artist too. The first painting is reminiscent of Van Gogh! Thanks for introducing him to us.

    Ha, I’ve just noticed that the comment above says the same thing. There you go!!

    Fiona Stolze
    http://fionastolze.wordpress.com

  6. Julie Labes says:

    Again, a great idea to bring a more personal approach to the business. Helps people connect. And now with the gorgeous artwork, it also allows us to see the more human side of the business

    Julie Labes the…Fierce over 50 feels much younger, point and click junkie, loves to travel, does not use a jogging stroller, and before you ask, this is NOT my granddaughter..Woman

  7. lisawifemom says:

    I too was thinking van gogh! Will’s a great guy, great bit of get-to-know-ya info about him. Shows once again Fresh Brothers dedicated to their people, both within the company as well as their customers.

    Lisa Vitale
    http://lisawifemom.wordpress.com/

  8. I love the personal side that you bring to your business. It reminds me very much of my dad – a self made man out of Brooklyn – he had a knack for really making everything personal and real. I love when people have two very different skills – like pizza making and art – makes the world interesting!
    Rachel

  9. Love those paintings! But then I like Van Gogh – he is very good and a pleasure to meet you Will ;). Next time I spend any time in LA I HAVE to check out Fresh Brothers!
    Louise Edington
    Facing Fears Over Fifty
    http://louiseedington.com

  10. Yvonne Hall says:

    This is MY Fresh Brothers and NOW I also know why I’m always SO happy when I get my pizza/pie!!!! What a great story and a great guy. Thanks to both of you for sharing it!
    Yvonne Hall
    http://www.facebook.com/wildfowildtree

  11. I love the idea of highlighting employees and letting customers get to know them! Your stores must be a wonderful, home-y place to shop. And sharing his artwork gives people a totally different way of connecting with Will.

  12. Bruce Barone says:

    WOW!

    Times two. What a fascinating person. And I love these insights into your team members.

    Love the paintings, too.

  13. Nice profile. Would love to see his art work hanging at Fresh Brothers. My favorite taquería in San Francisco always shows local art on their walls and I went in there yesterday and there was no art and the place just wasn’t as lively. Real art is always an asset.

  14. What a clever idea to draw us in to Fresh Pizza through the engaging faces behind the pie. Wish there was a Fresh Brothers in my neighborhood, I will have to settle for the scratch and sniff option. Love the energy and colors in Will’s art. And I adore the idea of mixing pizza and paintings!

    Jennifer Duchene
    Home Makeover Mixtress
    http://home-decorating-makeovers.com/

  15. Rob Wallis says:

    Excellent way to tie in your staff with your marketing and let customers (and prospective customers) know your people that much better.

    Great paintings too!

  16. Hi Debbie,
    Thanks for blogging with such a personal touch. Too personal? Heck no. I bet you’ll still sell lots of pizza, but to friendlier people. BTW, one of my sisters lives in Manhattan Beach, and I told her about you — has she come in yet? Next time I visit, I’ll bring the whole crew over.

  17. What a wonderful way of showing appreciation for your employees. Not only does it sound like you have great customer service based on descriptions of how Will works, but to highlight your employees and their capabilities and outside interests makes it so personal and shows a company that cares about their people.

    Great paintings. Will is definitely a multi-talented individual and sounds like a wonderful asset to your business.

  18. I wonder how many employers know that their employees are artists? I bet not very many because they wouldn’t have taken the time to find out. What a great way to run a business.

    Thanks for sharing Will with us.

    Candace Davenport
    http://www.ourlittlebooks.com ~ Little Books with a Big Message

  19. Pingback: William Coulehan Sells His First Painting | freshbrothers

Leave a Reply

