What is it with White Pizza?

What is it with White Pizza?

According to Wikipedia, “white pizza (pizza bianca) omits the tomato sauce, often substituting pesto or dairy products such as sour cream. Most commonly, especially on the East coast of the United States, the toppings consist only of mozzarella and ricotta cheese drizzled with olive oil and spices like fresh basil and garlic.”

I didn’t grow up eating a white pizza. It simply wasn’t on the menu in the pizzerias near my home. As an adult, I can appreciate the white pie. How can you not? It’s incredibly rich and decadent. White pizza, to me, seems more like an appetizer rather than a meal.

We currently do not have a white pizza our menu, but are considering adding it. We’ve had a lot of customers lately who have asked about a white pizza.

What do you think? How do you like your white pizza? Should we add it to the Fresh Brothers menu?

This entry was posted in Pizza and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is it with White Pizza?

  1. Yvonne Hall says:

    I never ate white pizza as a kid either — but then again I also never ate lobster and I sure am glad I eat both now!!! I’d love to see an FB white pizza because I know it would be the fresh, healthful ingredients and of course with everything you make TASTY!!!! (Feel free to contact me for taste testing opportunities while you perfect the recipe. I’d be HAPPY to lend my taste buds for the cause)
    Yvonne
    facebook.com/wildforwildtree

  2. Liz Caiello says:

    I grew up in Upstate NY eating “garlic pizza” the more modern name is white pizza, and yes it is great. We like it with olive oil, garlic, ricotta, moz, fresh tomato slices & broccoli – let me know when you add it. Maybe give it a try during the holiday season???

  3. lisawifemom says:

    Yum, it all sounds good to me! I’ve had a few different types of white pizza, some with veggies, some with just cheese. I think the main theme is the lack of red sauce.

    I love it all, bring it on!

Leave a Reply

